Public Holidays in NSW

Listed below are the NSW public holidays for 2019 to 2021.





New Year’s Day

Tuesday, 1 January

1 January

Friday, 1 January

Australia Day

28 January

27 January

26 January

Good Friday

Friday, 19 April

Friday, 10 April

Friday, 2 April

Easter Saturday – the Saturday following Good Friday

Saturday, 20 April

Saturday, 11 April

Saturday, 3 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 21 April

Sunday, 12 April

Sunday, 4 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 22 April

Monday, 13 April

Monday, 5 April

Anzac Day

Thursday, 25 April

Saturday, 25 April

Sunday, 25 April

Queen’s Birthday

Monday, 10 June

Monday, 8 June

Monday, 14 June

Labour Day

Monday, 7 October

Monday, 5 October

Monday, 4 October

Christmas Day

25 December

25 December

25 December

Boxing Day

26 December

26 December

Sunday, 26 December

Additional Day


28 December

27 December

Additional Day



28 December

*The Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW) provides that when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.

**The Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW) provides for an Additional Day when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday.

Councils will be notified of any further additions to public holidays through the Local Government Weekly. This page will also be updated.

Councils are advised that employees required to work on public holidays are entitled to be paid according to Clause 20A - Holidays of the Local Government (State) Award 2017.

More detailed information on public holidays for individual council areas and the table above can be found online at the Office of Industrial Relations.