Local Water Utilities Policy Advisory Group

The LGNSW Board has established a sub-committee of elected representatives to provide it with advice on policy and advocacy matters impacting on Local Water Utilities (LWUs), as resolved at the 2017 Annual Conference.

Role of the advisory group

Key features of the LWU Policy Advisory Group, as set out in its Terms of Reference, are:

  • Its primary purpose is to provide LGNSW with input and advice, from an elected representative perspective, on policy and advocacy matters impacting on LWUs.
  • It is not a decision-making body.
  • Its membership is limited to 10 elected representatives (including the chair).
  • Membership includes representatives from councils with LWUs that are not currently represented on the Board.
  • The Board’s representative on Water Directorate’s executive committee serves as chair.
  • LGNSW provides administrative support.
  • The chair of the Water Directorate’s executive committee, or their delegate, is an observer.
  • The group meets on an “as needs” basis, with business primarily transacted remotely.
  • No remuneration or reimbursement of costs is payable to members.

Advisory group members

The Board invited eligible councils to nominate one of their councillors to join the advisory group. Eligibility was limited to those councils responsible for providing water and sewer services and that are not currently represented on the Board. Nominations closed on 14 September 2018.

Eight valid nominations were received, and all eight nominations were accepted.

The Board congratulates those councillors appointed to the advisory group and looks forward to working with them.

The advisory group consists of:

Name Council Local Water Utility
Cr Rod Kendall - Chair
LGNSW Board representative
Cr David McCann Coolamon Shire Goldenfields Water
Cr David Somervaille Blayney Shire Central Tablelands Water
Cr Jim Maxwell Tamworth Regional Tamworth Council
Cr Kathryn Bell JP MidCoast MidCoast Council
Cr Robert Mustow Richmond Valley Richmond Valley Council
Cr Bill West Cowra Shire Cowra Shire Council
Cr Greg Verdon Lockhart Shire Riverina Water
Cr Sharon Lesley Cadwallader Ballina  Rous Water
Mark Hely  Senior Policy Officer - LGNSW  n/a
Wayne Beatty (Observer) Chair – NSW Water Directorate n/a

The advisory group will hold its inaugural meeting on 6 December 2018.